USE This!!!

Rules of Derby (according to WFTDA) ask our all-knowing officials whatever you like.
Post Reply
User avatar
ella-bellabang-bang
Posts: 1756
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:07 am

USE This!!!

Post by ella-bellabang-bang » Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:07 am

Hello can all skaters use this area for any rules questions you may have.

Just put the rule in the Subject and then your question in the body of your new topic, then all refs and skaters can discuss your query.

This is a fantastic way for everyone to learn the rules and better their knowledge and understanding of the game!!!


On a side not for Refs when you join if you PM Justin Case he will add you to our refs only bit where we will also be discussing rules and more.

Can everyone use this and publicise this feature as it really does help us all learn and improve together.

No question too silly!!
Team Scotland Head Coach

haberbashery
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 7:40 pm

Re: USE This!!!

Post by haberbashery » Thu Oct 15, 2009 9:49 am

if I'm skating on the inside line can someone swoop in from the outside of the track and take me out? is it allowed? thanks refs please discuss
Bitches get stitches

Justin Case

Re: USE This!!!

Post by Justin Case » Thu Oct 15, 2009 10:46 am

Your not allowed to build up speed offtrack so o would say this is a foul (make I believe?)

Duncan Disorderly
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:05 pm

Re: USE This!!!

Post by Duncan Disorderly » Thu Oct 15, 2009 8:52 pm

haberbashery wrote:if I'm skating on the inside line can someone swoop in from the outside of the track and take me out? is it allowed? thanks refs please discuss
Hey there, LRG ref here. Do you mean the outside of the track as in from out of bounds? If so, building momentum for a block whilst out of bounds is a Blocking Out Of Bounds penalty - provided the blocker makes contact with their target - so no, it's not allowed.

Code: Select all

6.9.2 Skaters may not pick up momentum for a block until in bounds.

User avatar
ZILLAH
Posts: 4030
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:25 pm
Location: MY HEART IS WITH ARRG FOREVER

Re: USE This!!!

Post by ZILLAH » Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:42 am

question:
Is it true that if you knock the opposing jammer out of bounds before they get to the first pass, that they are unable to achieve lead jammer status?

Thanks!
z
YOU HAVE MY HEART

Duncan Disorderly
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:05 pm

Re: USE This!!!

Post by Duncan Disorderly » Mon Oct 19, 2009 7:35 pm

ZILLAH wrote:question:
Is it true that if you knock the opposing jammer out of bounds before they get to the first pass, that they are unable to achieve lead jammer status?

Thanks!
z
Yes, if either jammer goes even slightly out of bounds before they reach the Engagement Zone on their first pass, they are ineligible to become lead jammer.

Code: Select all

3.4.2.2 To remain eligible for Lead Jammer, a Jammer must remain in bounds until she is within 20 feet of the pack, a.k.a. the Engagement Zone, the area in which she may be legally engaged by a Blocker.  No part of her skate(s) may touch the ground outside the track boundary before she initially enters the Engagement Zone.  Until she initially reaches the Engagement Zone, a Jammer may be blocked out of bounds by the opposing Jammer, rendering her ineligible to become Lead Jammer. 

User avatar
ella-bellabang-bang
Posts: 1756
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:07 am

Re: USE This!!!

Post by ella-bellabang-bang » Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:44 am

Ah Mr Disorderly!! You are indeed quick of the mark.

When using this section can people post thier questions in a new topic!!

Makes it easier to refer back to. As some people may have similar questions and it will become a very usefull learning tool. Which is what we want!!!

See you at the weekend fellow ref!!

xxx
Team Scotland Head Coach

Post Reply