This relates to a penalty given yesterday that 3 people have already asked me about, so I thought I'd do a Rule of the Fortnight to elaborate on exactly what happened!
So - here's what happened. A jammer happened to be full over the jam line when the whistle went. She was issued an illegal procedure penalty: Illegal Positioning.
But wait, isn't that a false start?
No! There is a difference between false starting and having 'illegal positioning'. As the rules show:
Ok, so we all know this. But the key here is 'touching their legal starting area'. This jammer was fully over the line - so a different rule applies:3.2.8 - Skaters who line up fully in bounds but in an illegal starting position (while touching their legal starting area) are considered to have committed a False Start, and will receive a False Start warning.
You don't get a chance to yield because you are so far out of position it is deemed immediately penalty worthy.3.2.7 - Skaters who line up completely outside of their legal starting area (but fully inside the track boundary) will be issued a penalty (see Section 5.13.8).
5.13.8 - Illegal Positioning: A Skater who commits a False Start (see Section 3.2.7) by touching completely outside of their legal starting area (but fully inside the track boundary) at the jam-starting whistle. Each Skater who violates this rule shall receive a penalty, even if this includes more than one Skater from the same team.
For blockers: if you line up ANYWHERE outwith the pivot and jammer lines, you will get this penalty.
For jammers: if you line up ANYWHERE within the jammer and pivot lines, you will get this penalty.
Makes sense, right? Hopefully!
You can help Rule of the Week/Fortnight/Month/Whenever Mags isn't writing essays, refereeing, or is inundated with questions worth discussing! Please fill in my survey: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/BNB6M5J