Rule of the Week - Illegal Procedures

Rules of Derby (according to WFTDA) ask our all-knowing officials whatever you like.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mags Payne
Posts: 1293
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:28 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Rule of the Week - Illegal Procedures

Post by Mags Payne » Tue Jul 14, 2015 12:23 pm

I was sure I had done this, but apparently I haven't? I blame it on the lack of coffee. If you do notice it elsewhere, please let me know!

Illegal procedures are a funny one. The WFTDA defines them as:
Technical infractions that give the offending team an advantage but do not necessarily impact a specific opponent.
These are the very bottom of the penalties hierarchy - so while they're still bad (seriously - getting penalties is *never* a good thing!), they are rarely, if ever, potentially dangerous. In fact, you'd have to be pretty creative to make some of these dangerous!

Legal Play
5.13.1 - A Skater who establishes legal starting position on the track before the jam-starting whistle, but is blocked out of bounds or out of legal starting position prior to or as the jam-starting whistle blows. This Skater will be allowed to remain in the jam, and is not considered to have committed a False Start.
Note: the skater that hit you out of bounds will get a misconduct penalty. But because you have been hit BEFORE the whistle, and that's illegal, you are allowed to return/remain in the jam. You do not need to yield as you would with a false start.

No Impact/No Penalty
5.13.2 - A Skater completely exiting the Penalty Box before their penalty time finishes after being incorrectly instructed to do so by the Penalty Box Official. The Skater must return to the box and finish the penalty.
Because this is the fault of the Official *not* the skater, this is not penalty worthy. You *will* have to serve the rest of your penalty though. Also, please note *thinking* that the NSO has given you leave to go because they said 'Done' to someone else does not count. You should listen for the NSO to say 'Colour, Number, Done.'. And wait till the 'done' - otherwise penalties ahoy.
5.13.3 - Too many Skaters on the track. The extra Skater is instructed to return to the bench without stopping the jam.
We'll usually send off the skater nearest to the edge of the track, just because they are the person most likely to leave safely.
5.13.4 - More than one designated Pivot for a team on the track after the jam-starting whistle. The Skater at fault is the Pivot who was the last Pivot to enter the track in that jam. If the Referee is unable to determine the last Pivot to enter the track, the Referee handling the Illegal Procedure must single out the closest Pivot on the track. After the whistle, the Referee must instruct that Skater to return to the bench if that Skater is an extra Skater on the track (see Section 5.13.3) or remove the helmet cover if that Skater is an extra Pivot, but the team otherwise has the correct number of Blockers. Any Pivot starting in the Penalty Box is the designated Pivot for that jam.
So if you're an extra skater *and* there is 2 pivots, one of the pivots will go back to the bench. If there's just two pivots (one in the box for example), the one on the track will be told to remove their helmet cover, but can continue in the jam.
5.13.5 - A Jammer without established Lead Jammer status attempting to call off a jam, if the jam is not called off.
You might get a quizzical look from your jammer ref though.
5.13.6 - A Blocker starting the jam with more than one knee down.
Now, I've only been reffing for 2 and a half years. I've not got tonnes of experience. But I've never seen a blocker with more than 2 knees, so I'm going to presume that this is 'a blocker starting the jam on both knees'... This is probably to prevent skaters being penalised for falling over accidentally right at the start of the jam.

Penalties
5.13.7 - Failure to Yield: A Skater who commits a False Start by touching partially outside of their legal starting area at the jam-starting whistle, and then fails to yield advantage gained thereby.
Remember, you HAVE to yield if given the 'False Start' warning. And you have to yield to all skaters in the vicinity, including the jammers.
5.13.8 - Illegal Positioning: A Skater who commits a False Start (see Section 3.2.7) by touching completely outside of their legal starting area (but fully inside the track boundary) at the jam-starting whistle. Each Skater who violates this rule shall receive a penalty, even if this includes more than one Skater from the same team.

5.13.8.1 - If all of a team's Blockers are illegally positioned by touching completely outside of their legal starting area, the jam should not be started.
So, as a blocker, if you were behind the jammer line you WILL NOT receive a warning, you will immediately receive an illegal positioning penalty. Likewise, if you are a jammer and are between the jammer and pivot lines, you will receive an illegal positioning penalty. If there are no blockers from one team between the jammer and pivot lines but *are* on track, then the jam doesn't start.
5.13.8.2 - If, at the jam-starting whistle, a pack cannot be defined because one or more Skaters is touching partially outside of their legal starting area (see Section 3.2.8), one Skater who is touching partially outside their legal starting area will be immediately penalized (i.e., not given a chance to yield). If more than one Skater could be assessed this penalty, it should go to the Pivot (if the Pivot is illegally positioned as described), or to the Skater closest to the Referee.
As pivot, it's best to make sure that everyone is appropriately in position.
5.13.9 - A penalized Skater who leaves the Penalty Box during either a team or Official Timeout.

5.13.10 - Entering the Penalty Box to communicate with a penalized Skater (see Section 6.2.4.1).

5.13.10.1 - All medical support staff will be allowed into the box as necessary, but may only communicate with penalized Skaters regarding medical matters.

5.13.10.2 - If a team’s non-skating bench staff enters the Penalty Box to communicate with a penalized Skater, this penalty will be issued to their team’s Captain.
The penalty box! The sanctuary of NSOs. You cannot leave unless instructed to do so. Even if there's a time-out. You cannot go into the box to speak to someone. Most HRs are fine with water being rolled into the box for a skater, or people communicating with folk in the box from OUTSIDE of the box, but that is something that should be cleared with the HR first, just in case.
5.13.11 - A penalized Skater who removes safety equipment while in the Penalty Box. A penalized Skater may remove their mouth guard only after being seated in the Penalty Box. Merely adjusting safety equipment while in the Penalty Box is not to be penalized.
So it's ok if you tighten your helmet. It's not OK if you take it off to adjust it. You must be seated when you have your mouth guard out.
5.13.12 - Forcing a jam to be called off due to too many Skaters on the track. Per Section 8.2.1.1.1, if too many Skaters are on the track, the Referees will direct a Skater off the track. If a Skater does not leave the track and the jam is called off due to too many Skaters being on the track, that Skater will receive the penalty.
Listen to your officials, and do what they say. We're just trying to make sure that the game can keep going!!
5.13.13 - Improper uniform, jewelry, or skates.
Genitals covered, please.
5.13.14 - A Jammer without Lead Jammer status successfully calling off a jam.
Interestingly, you will get this penalty even though it's technically the referee that makes the error. This is a very good time to remember to look at your jammer ref when calling it! Make sure they have a good line of sight and also look for them pointing at you!
5.13.15 - Violations of rules regarding possessing or wearing helmet covers. The initiator of the illegal action receives the penalty.
This includes star passes. If you're confused about them, there's a few threads on them!
5.13.16 - Preventing a Star Pass via any means other than legal blocking.
You're not allowed to snatch the helmet cover out of someone's hand. You're not allowed to flying kick the helmet cover out of someone's hand. You're not allowed to set fire to the helmet cover...
5.13.17 - A Skater exiting the Penalty Box who re-enters the track in a manner that would constitute a penalty for cutting (see Section 5.11 - Cutting the Track), given that all in-bounds and upright Blockers are assumed to have superior position to a Skater returning from the box.

5.13.18 - A Skater, after being waved off of a full Penalty Box, who re-enters the track in a manner that would constitute a penalty for cutting (see Section 5.11 - Cutting the Track), given that all in-bounds and upright Blockers are assumed to have superior position to a Skater returning from the box.

5.13.19 - A Skater, after addressing mid-jam equipment malfunction, who re-enters the track in a manner that would constitute a penalty for cutting (see Section 5.11 - Cutting the Track), given that all in-bounds and upright Blockers are assumed to have superior position to a Skater returning after addressing mid-jam equipment malfunctions.
This is an illegal re-entry, not a cut. Because you are *returning* to the track and pack, so weren't inbounds to start a cut.
5.13.20 - A Skater completely exiting the Penalty Box before they are released by an Official. (Note: If the Penalty Box Official instructs the Skater to leave early, this penalty does not apply
See above. Listen to the NSOs.
5.13.21 - Too many Skaters and/or team support staff in the designated team area. The penalty is issued to the Pivot at the time the penalty is determined. If there is no Pivot in that jam, the penalty is issued to the Captain in all circumstances.
There are strict rules on how many skaters and bench staff can be in your team area. Try and make sure that there are no extras!
5.13.22 - Removing required safety equipment
Just don't do it. It's dangerous and silly.
5.13.23 - A Skater who has fouled out of a game interfering with play or the game beyond behavior expected from an audience member. This includes returning to the designated team area during the remainder of the game. This penalty is to be assessed to that Skater’s team’s Captain.
If you've fouled you, you should probably have a think about how to clean up your game instead of trying to interfere in the one that's happening!
5.13.24 - An expelled Skater failing to leave the track or staging area, or returning to the track area after they have been expelled. This includes returning to the designated team area during the remainder of the game. This penalty is to be assessed to that Skater’s team’s Captain.
I've seen this happen. Expelled skaters sneaking back into the crowd. This doesn't end well for anyone, including your team.
5.13.25 - Skaters who intentionally begin in a starting position that purposefully prolongs their ability to return to an in-play position or their team’s ability to form or reform a pack at the jam-starting whistle (e.g., intentionally starting on one’s back, intentionally starting in a dog pile). One penalty will be applied per team, to the single Skater who seems most responsible, or the Pivot, for beginning the jam in this manner. Other Skaters may receive subsequent penalties for failure to reform the pack per Section 5.10.6 and Section 5.10.13.
Hooray for getting rid of people lying on the track. If you want to play roller derby, make sure you can play! Don't delay it from happening!

Expulsion
5.13.26 - Not applicable.
Like I said, these aren't really safety related penalties (well, taking your safety equipment off is, but the only person likely to end up injured is you, so you're not expelled for that).

Ta-da! IPs are now covered.
Head Referee, WFTDA Officials rep, WFTDA Rules Committee Member, MRDA Recognised Official.


Good? Bad? I'm the girl with the whistle.

User avatar
JaneEerie
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 12:45 pm

Re: Rule of the Week - Illegal Procedures

Post by JaneEerie » Tue Jul 14, 2015 2:45 pm

Quick NSO chime in regarding removing safety equipment in the Penalty Box. We've recently had a discussion with a wide array of refs and NSOs from Europe about the wording and intention about this bit:
Mags Payne wrote:
5.13.11 - A penalized Skater who removes safety equipment while in the Penalty Box. A penalized Skater may remove their mouth guard only after being seated in the Penalty Box. Merely adjusting safety equipment while in the Penalty Box is not to be penalized.
So it's ok if you tighten your helmet. It's not OK if you take it off to adjust it. You must be seated when you have your mouth guard out.
The debate ranged around what happens in the 10 seconds that a skater is standing before being released if they have removed their mouth guard and that discussion came to this consensus.

1. you have to sit when initially removing the mouth guard.

2. if you are standing with it in your hand, that is your responsibility (what if you trip and fall and smash your face into the floor or somebody gets hit out and crashes into you...) BUT you will not be penalised for it UNLESS

3. you fully exit the Penalty Box area with your mouthguard out. Basically, as soon as you're expecting to go back into play, you have to put the thing in again. If your Box Timer or Penalty Box Manager sees you holiding it while standing, the *may* issue a warning along the lines of "Colour, number, mind your mouth guard." This is in line with warnings for i.e. false positioning etc. as have recently been clarified and as it's a safetey concern, we all pretty much agreed that we much rather tell you than have you lose your teeth ;)

Bottom line, you can take the thing out at your own risk while being in the box, even when your standing but you should really remember to put it back in before leaving the box if you don't want to extend your visit by another 30 seconds.

Ta xx
NSO Committe, All Star Reserves Bout Laison

Post Reply