Rule of the Week - Jammes Passes

Rules of Derby (according to WFTDA) ask our all-knowing officials whatever you like.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mags Payne
Posts: 1293
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:28 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Rule of the Week - Jammes Passes

Post by Mags Payne » Tue May 19, 2015 4:16 pm

Thought it might be a good time to chat about scoring. It'll be EXCITING.
7.1.1 - A Jammer does not score points on opposing Blockers on their first pass through the pack. This “initial pass” is to determine Lead Jammer status.

7.1.1.1 - During an overtime jam, an exception is made: The initial pass is considered to be a scoring pass, and there is no Lead Jammer.
Overtime jams are super rare. I've never seen one.
7.1.2 - A Jammer may score a Jammer Lap Point on their initial pass.
JLPs are independent from scoring passes. Let's have a nice example:

Green Jammer hits Black Jammer Out of Bounds and skates clockwise to draw the cut. She draws the opposing Jammer around to the front of the pack the Black Jammer re-enters legally but gets absorbed by the pack. The Green Jammer begins her initial pass and in doing so laps the White Jammer and then earns Lead with the Jammer lap point.

Still confused? This video is based on the old rules, but as far as I can tell everything shown here is pretty much the same (I haven't watched the whole thing). It should give you an idea though: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-owN46BK-hI

Be aware that the jammer ref may not signal this to the Score Keeper until the completion of the scoring pass (or the end of the jam - whatever comes first).
7.1.3 - After completing their initial pass, a Jammer scores points by passing opponents on their second and subsequent passes. These are considered “scoring passes.” A Jammer can score a maximum of one point per opposing Blocker per scoring pass. Jammer Lap Points are independent of scoring passes. In order to receive a point for passing an opponent, the Jammer must:

7.1.3.1 - Pass the opponents’ hips while in bounds and upright, legally, while wearing the Jammer helmet cover with the stars visible, without committing penalties.

7.1.3.2 - Any legal pass counts. If a Jammer becomes ineligible for a point by committing an illegal action or passing while out of bounds, the Jammer is allowed an opportunity to re-pass and score the point.
Remember - you need to have the helmet cover on to score points! And if you re-enter in front of someone who has knocked you out, if you haven't already passed them, you won't get the point unless you legally pass them again.
7.1.3.3 - Passes while airborne will result in points only if:

7.1.3.3.1 - The Jammer was in bounds when they left the track,

7.1.3.3.2 - The Jammer lands in bounds,

7.1.3.3.3 - The Jammer’s skate is the first part of the Jammer to make contact with the track, and

7.1.3.3.4 - The Jammer’s skate re-connects with the track prior to the end of the jam.
Ah, apex jumps. So, you have to be in bounds, you have land in bounds FEET FIRST (if you land on your knees or whatever, it doesn't count) AND you have to land before the end of the jam. Make sense?
7.1.3.4 - A Jammer who is in bounds but down may earn points for opposing Blockers who were ahead of the Jammer but skate clockwise behind the downed Jammer. This is considered to be a pass.
One everyone seems to forget - this is how you give away points!
7.1.3.5 - The Jammer’s scoring pass is complete (and their next scoring pass begins) once the Jammer has exited the Engagement Zone. If there is no pack, the scoring pass ends when the Jammer passes the foremost Blocker. If the Jammer is ahead of all Blockers, their pass ends immediately if a No Pack situation is declared
So - engagement zone. If there is no pack, you have to pass the foremost blocker to finish the pass. If you're in front of the blockers (by 3 feet, say), you immediately have completed your scoring pass.
7.1.4 - A Jammer’s initial pass through the pack begins as soon as the Jammer is behind the pack after the jam-starting whistle. If no pack is defined, the initial pass begins as soon as the Jammer is immediately behind the rearmost Blocker.
Straight forward, hopefully!
7.1.5 - Each pass through the pack (either initial or scoring) ends, and the next pass begins, when the Jammer exits the front of the Engagement Zone.

7.1.5.1 - If a Jammer exits the front of the Engagement Zone but is then lapped by the pack, that Jammer returns to their previous pass until re-exiting the front of the Engagement Zone.
This means that you don't gain points for repassing folk when you're swallowed by the pack!
7.1.5.2 - If a Jammer falls behind and is lapped by the pack before completing their initial pass, it will not be considered their initial pass. The Jammer’s forward engagement of the pack on their subsequent pass will be considered their initial pass.
This one is a bit confusing - and is partially how you get the 6 point pass.
7.1.5.3 - Even if a Jammer is lapped by the pack more than once (as in Section 7.1.5.1 or Section 7.1.5.2), when they complete a pass by exiting the front of the Engagement Zone, they will return to the pass they had been on prior to having ever been lapped (see Section 7.1.3.5).
You can NEVER be more than 1 lap behind. EVER. Even if a jammer laps the opposing jammer about 9 times, they are technically only 1 lap ahead ever.

This is a nice short one, but there are some complicated ideas here, so please feel free to ask for clarifications! Also, next week we will be doing POINTS.
Head Referee, WFTDA Officials rep, WFTDA Rules Committee Member, MRDA Recognised Official.


Good? Bad? I'm the girl with the whistle.

User avatar
Blind Io
Posts: 238
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 10:02 am
Location: Edinburgh

Re: Rule of the Week - Jammes Passes

Post by Blind Io » Tue May 19, 2015 4:39 pm

You can NEVER be more than 1 lap behind. EVER. Even if a jammer laps the opposing jammer about 9 times, they are technically only 1 lap ahead ever.
So this is why the most points that can be scored by a jammer in one pass is 6 (5 + 1JLP), and can never be 7 or 8 or more?
Officials Co-Spokesey / WFTDA Certified Level 2 NSO / UKRDA Official

User avatar
Mags Payne
Posts: 1293
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:28 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Re: Rule of the Week - Jammes Passes

Post by Mags Payne » Tue May 19, 2015 4:47 pm

Yup!
Head Referee, WFTDA Officials rep, WFTDA Rules Committee Member, MRDA Recognised Official.


Good? Bad? I'm the girl with the whistle.

Post Reply