Page 1 of 2

Rule of the Week - FREE FOR ALL

Posted: Wed May 13, 2015 1:48 pm
by Mags Payne
Hi guys!

Since we've now had 8 weeks of Rule of the Week, I thought now would be a good time to have a wee pause for feedback, any questions that you want to ask about the previous week's rules (or anything else!), any weird plays you've seen lately and stuff like that.

Basically, hello, we are your officials, ASK US ANYTHING :)

Well...almost anything

Re: Rule of the Week - FREE FOR ALL

Posted: Fri May 15, 2015 8:53 am
by Katy
Mags, I've noticed issued with refs giving lead jammer status to skaters who have taken a panty pass or come out of the bin (and a lead had already been declared). This is something I'm seeing more and more, so I'm wondering if there's been some kind of rule change. Can you clarify when skaters can get lead jammer please?

Re: Rule of the Week - FREE FOR ALL

Posted: Fri May 15, 2015 9:01 am
by Princess Die
How much moving are jammers allowed to do prior to the whistle? I know they are free to move about, but can they accelerate? Can they start from way far back and at 5 seconds start beasting towards the pack, as long as they don't hit before the whistle?

Re: Rule of the Week - FREE FOR ALL

Posted: Fri May 15, 2015 9:08 am
by Mags Payne
Sure thing!

One - a pivot-turned jammer can *never* become lead. That star pass completely removes the team's ability to becoming lead for that jam. If you see a pivot turned jammer being awared lead, use your official review! It's very bad.

With regards to jammers in the box, if the jammer is sent to the bin during that jam, she is not eligible to become lead. If she is already lead, she loses it. However, if the jammer *starts* the jam in the bin, she *is* eligible to become lead.
2.4.5 - A Jammer who begins the jam in the Penalty Box is eligible to earn Lead Jammer status provided that the other Jammer has not already been declared Lead Jammer. A Jammer sent to the Penalty Box while making their initial pass through the pack is not eligible to become Lead Jammer upon returning to the jam.
Does this make sense, pal?

(Lead jammer section of the rules here: http://www.wftda.com/rules/20141201/section/2.4)

Re: Rule of the Week - FREE FOR ALL

Posted: Fri May 15, 2015 9:15 am
by Mags Payne
Princess Die wrote:How much moving are jammers allowed to do prior to the whistle? I know they are free to move about, but can they accelerate? Can they start from way far back and at 5 seconds start beasting towards the pack, as long as they don't hit before the whistle?
Hi Die!
3.2.4 - Jammer Starting Position: Jammers may line up anywhere between the Jammer Line and the Pivot Line (measured clockwise). Jammers may line up touching the Jammer Line, but may not be touching the Pivot Line.

3.2.5 - The pack and Jammers may begin rolling at the jam-starting whistle from the designated Official.

3.2.6 - Jammers may not be accelerating at the jam-starting whistle. They are, however, permitted to be moving, coasting, or braking.
You can't accelerate at the jam starting whistle. You can be rolling though! If you start sprinting for the pack at 5 seconds, you'll get an IP penalty - it's basically a false start :)

Re: Rule of the Week - FREE FOR ALL

Posted: Fri May 15, 2015 10:57 am
by Legs11
Die - watch Rose City for this, Scald Eagle often does a rolling jammer start.

Re: Rule of the Week - FREE FOR ALL

Posted: Fri May 15, 2015 2:36 pm
by Princess Die
Yes! I have seen that and I guess because she is so fast and controlled, it sometimes looks like she is accelerating before the whistle, but she isn't.

So you can be moving forward but not accelerating. Thanks!

Re: Rule of the Week - FREE FOR ALL

Posted: Fri May 15, 2015 4:09 pm
by BA Humbug
Hey Mags, I checked through the previous posts because I knew you'd discussed this but I can't find it so could you clarify (again):
If the jammer gets hit out when a no pack is called (or it is called just after) the jammer still has to come back in behind the blocker(s) or they get a cutting the track penalty????
This happened to me last Friday and to be safe I went in behind them (and got recycled way back) and all the time I was thinking "what did Mags say in her post - aaaah I can't remember" :?

Re: Rule of the Week - FREE FOR ALL

Posted: Fri May 15, 2015 4:22 pm
by Mags Payne
Ha! Understandable :)

Ok, so if there is a no pack, you *have* to re-enter behind the people you were behind - even though there is no pack. This is because they have a superior position to you on track. The *only* time you wouldn't have re-enter behind them if they were 20 feet in front of one of the skaters who formed the last pack (confusing!)
When an initiating Blocker exits out of the Engagement Zone at any time after the initiating block or when, during a No Pack scenario, said Blocker is 20 feet (6 meters) from any member of the last defined pack.
Basically, no packs don't affect where you can re-enter. All you need to think about are your out of plays, out of bounds and downed skaters :)

Does that help?

Re: Rule of the Week - FREE FOR ALL

Posted: Sat May 16, 2015 2:28 pm
by Hex
Yesterday when we were trying doing the weird stuff we were talking about doing a star stash... you take off the star to transfer attention to the pivot then skip on through (in theory - we didn't manage to do it) but heres my question. if you are lead jammer and do a star stash you obviously don't get points while you are inactive, but if you don't pass - do you get to keep lead jammer status?