Remember lead jammer status can not be gained or given with a star pass. Even if NO-ONE has obtained lead, the moment a pivot becomes a jammer, that team is no longer eligible for lead jammer for the rest of that jam.A Jammer may transfer their position (i.e., the status of being the Jammer, or "Jammer Status") to their team’s Pivot, allowing said Pivot to become the point-scoring Skater for their team for the remainder of the jam. This is commonly referred to as “Passing the Star.” Only the position of Jammer, and not the status of Lead Jammer, may be transferred to the Pivot. A Pivot-turned-Jammer can score points, but cannot gain Lead Jammer status.
You can't throw the cover, or snatch it off the jammer's head. The star pass is COMPLETE when the pivot is holding the star.2.5.1 - Pass Procedure: In order to transfer Jammer Status to the Pivot, a Jammer must hand their helmet cover (the “Star”) to the Pivot. (Removing the Star will make the Jammer inactive) The Pivot must be grasping the Star when the Jammer releases it. Upon the Jammer releasing the Star, Jammer Status has been transferred: the Pivot will be considered the Jammer, and the prior Jammer will be considered a Blocker. They retain these new roles until the end of the jam.
So, the jammer can take off the helmet cover when she's down. But she has to be upright and in-bounds and in-play to legally pass it to the pivot. Likewise, the pivot must be upright and in-bounds and in-play to receive the panty, but she can put it on while out of bounds or down (she's an inactive jammer, so technically can't be out of play).220.127.116.11 - Jammer Status may only be transferred by a Jammer who releases the Star while in the Engagement Zone, to a Pivot who is also within the Engagement Zone. It is illegal to transfer the Star while either the Jammer or Pivot is outside of the Engagement Zone, down, or out of bounds. This applies only to the moment of transfer (i.e., the Jammer’s release of the Star into the grasping Pivot’s hand).
The moment the helmet cover is off, the jammer is an 'inactive jammer' (they can't score points or earn lead, other than that they are the same as a normal jammer). Once it's passed to the pivot, the pivot becomes an 'inactive jammer' and the former jammer becomes a blocker. The pivot-turned-jammer is then able to score once they put on the helmet cover.18.104.22.168 - All rules regarding inactive Jammers apply. The initial Jammer is inactive as soon as they have removed the Star, and the Pivot-turned-Jammer is inactive until they have put the Star on with the stars visible.
Remember from our week on penalty box procedures - if you are on the way to the box, or in the queue, you count as being 'in the box'. So no star passes allowed! You also can't pass it via others and if you drop the star the pivot can't pick it up and become the jammer (see below for incomplete star passes).22.214.171.124 - Jammer Status may not be transferred by handing off the Star via other Skaters, or throwing or dropping the Star.
126.96.36.199 - Jammers may not pass the Star while en route to or in the Penalty Box.
188.8.131.52.1 - Jammer may pass the Star upon returning to play from the Penalty Box.
184.108.40.206 - Jammers may not pass the Star to a Pivot who has been directed to or is in queue for the Penalty Box.
Illegal procedure! If you chuck the star at your pivot, you're going to get a penalty. And your bench coach will yell at you. Bear in mind, if the pivot has the star and the jammer goes to the bin, the jammer is inactive till she has those stars on her head again!2.5.2 - If the Star is passed illegally, Jammer Status is not transferred, even if the Pivot has sole possession of the Star. Both Skaters retain their original status, and the initiator of the pass is penalized accordingly.
LEGAL BLOCKING. Important caveat here! But you can get all up in the jammer's face (not literally, do not high block), or keep the pivot away from the jammer.2.5.3 - A Star Pass may be blocked by the opposing team by any means of legal blocking.
This should be fairly clear. 220.127.116.11 is a nice wee loophole that a lot of folk don't know - if you're a pivot passing the star back to the jammer, she can grab then IMMEDIATELY release without you releasing it to her and the star pass is then legally complete! Nice. Also if it's all going horriby wrong, the jammer can put the helmet cover back on and then be an active jammer again. Hooray!2.5.4 - Incomplete Star Passes and Recovery: If the Star falls to the ground for any reason or is removed from play by any means, it may only be recovered by the Jammer or Pivot.
18.104.22.168 - If the Pivot recovers the Star in this manner, it does not transfer Jammer Status. As such, the Pivot may not place it on their own helmet. Doing so will be considered illegal initiation of a Star Pass. The Pivot may return it to the inactive Jammer via a hand-off, throwing, or dropping, but not via other Skaters.
22.214.171.124 - When the inactive Jammer is once again grasping the Star, said Jammer may immediately release it back into possession of the Pivot, so long as the other requirements of Section 2.5.1 - Pass Procedure are met. Such an action constitutes a valid transfer of Jammer Status.
126.96.36.199 - If a Star Pass cannot be completed for any reason, the Jammer may return the Star to their own helmet and regain active Jammer Status.
If the jammer has already scored on two blockers (Kiki and Die, for example) and then passes the star, the pivot-turned-jammer now has to score on the other two blockers (Connie and Attack) but has still 'passed' Kiki and Die.2.5.5 - A Pivot who has just become the Jammer is now subject to all rules per Section 7 - Scoring. The Pivot picks up where the previous Jammer left off (i.e., on the same pass, having scored points on the same Blockers during that pass).
Hopefully this all makes sense. People tend to get confused with star passes, and it's easy for them to go wrong!