I mentioned that if this happened twice for the same skater they would sit out the rest of the game, I was a tiny bit overzealous with this! It's actually the remainder of the period. Rule is below.
The way I read this, if it happened in the first period then any further instances in the second would lead to 10.3.1.1 being triggered immediately (as it does not specify more than one jam in the same period). This seems entirely reasonable to me, given that the rule is intended to ensure the safety of the skater concerned.10.3.1 - If a skater sustains an injury serious enough that the referees call off the jam, the skater must sit out the next three jams.
10.3.1.1 - If more than one jam is called off for the same skater, the skater must sit out of the remainder of the period.